What Should I Do If I’m Injured in the Workplace?
Work related injuries happen. Thankfully, there are paths to compensation. If injured on the job, you may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. In most states, employers are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, but this is not a universal requirement.
For example, Texas state law does not require employers to carry such coverage; however, if the employer does not participate in the state’s worker compensation system, the employee can sue for compensation. Regardless of where you are located, you should act quickly if you are injured on the job.
To learn more about your legal rights, call the Fort Worth work injury attorneys of Zinda Law Group at (800) 863-5312 for a 100% free consultation with one of our skilled workers’ compensation lawyers.
Steps to Take After an On-the-Job Injury
Seek Medical Attention
When injured, seek medical care immediately. In the event of an emergency, proceed to the emergency room. If your injuries are not serious, you should consult your employer to see if they require you to use a particular doctor who will be covered under the workers’ compensation plan.
If you are not comfortable with this doctor’s opinion, seek a second opinion. While the visit may not be covered by your employer, it may be worth the minor cost in the long run should it uncover more serious injuries.
Inform Your Employer
If you are involved in an accident at work, even if you believe you were not injured, report the incident to your supervisor immediately. Ideally, you should notify your supervisor in writing, in the presence of reliable witnesses. If you are a member of a union, also notify your union representative.
A failure to report an injury could mean that an employer can deny you treatment or available benefits. Most states provide only a narrow window to assert your rights. In Texas, injured workers have only 30 days to notify the employer of their injury.
If you did not report the incident, but later find that you were injured, you still must report the injury to your employer within 30 days of when you become aware that the injury is related to your job. Besides preserving your rights to compensation, promptly notifying your employer protects you from an employer claiming that the injury did not happen at work.
Retain Documents and Keep Notes
Most businesses will have a system for reporting accidents. If your supervisor fills out an accident report, be sure to get a copy. Additionally, retain medical documents and keep notes related to when you supplied notice, who witnessed the accident, and any treatment you received.
What Happens Next?
In most states, your employer will file a workers’ compensation claim on your behalf, but you should still consult the relevant state agency to determine the proper procedure.
In Texas, the employee is responsible for filing the required forms with the Texas Department of Insurance within one year of injury. If your employer does not participate in a workers’ compensation system, you will have to file a lawsuit to receive compensation.
If you run into trouble receiving your benefits or find your only method for compensation is a lawsuit, consult a lawyer experienced in dealing with workplace injuries.
Get Help from Fort Worth Workers’ Compensation Lawyers
At Zinda Law Group, our workers’ compensation attorneys have helped many victims of workplace injuries seek compensation for medical bills, lost wages, property damage, pain and suffering, and more. We have the knowledge and resources necessary for maximizing your claim, and we will fight tirelessly to make you whole again, both physically and financially.
Call us today at (800) 863-5312 for a free consultation with one of our Fort Worth workers’ compensation lawyers. Meetings with attorneys by appointment only.