Rideshare Car Accident Lawyers

Ridesharing services like Lyft and Uber are becoming the fastest growing modes of transportation in the state of Texas and throughout the United States. While ridesharing companies offer services that are convenient and cost-effective, many of their drivers may not have the proper training. The lax hiring requirements and lack of supervision of these companies have led to their drivers being involved in a startling number of auto accidents within Fort Worth and across Texas.

It is no wonder that the Texas Legislature passed new regulations that sought to curb this trend. The new legislation came into effect on January 1, 2016, and it contains several provisions to try and make ridesharing more safe, including requiring drivers to reveal their cellphone use and mandating that rideshare companies carry $1 million in coverage on their insurance policies.

As is common with any new law or service, the concept of ridesharing and the new ridesharing laws have brought about some confusion among legal professionals. There are quite a few attorneys in Texas who are uninformed with the new concept of ridesharing and how to handle a matter against Lyft or Uber properly. Our Fort Worth rideshare injury lawyers are at the forefront of tracking this case law as it develops.

If you have been injured in an accident involving a Lyft or Uber vehicle, call Zinda Law Group at 800-863-5312 for a free consultation with one of our rideshare accident lawyers.

What to Know If You’re in a Rideshare Car Accident

Who Caused the Accident

If you are injured as a passenger of a ridesharing service, you will need to know the driver to blame for the accident. This fact is very important, as it will be used by your legal experts to seek compensation for the accident.

When you log onto a ridesharing app to order an Uber or Lyft, you automatically qualify for coverage under the company’s insurance policy. Your attorney will help you in investigating your accident based on the facts you present to them. This will be for purposes of identifying whether the ridesharing factor will apply in your case or not.

Insurance Coverage Depends on Whether the Driver Was on the Clock

In every ridesharing case, one of the questions to answer is what the driver’s status was when the accident occurred. It is important to determine whether the driver was either logged in to their ridesharing app, looking for a ride, providing a ride to a customer, logged out of their app, or off the clock at the exact time of the accident. If a driver is available to receive ride requests after logging in to their ridesharing app, the driver must have a minimum insurance liability limit as required by law.

In this case, the minimum insurance requirements specify coverage in the amount of $50,000 for each individual in the accident. It also covers a maximum of $100,000 for all of the bodily injuries or death for every incident and $25,000 for destruction and damage to property. These limits are more than the required $30,000 per person and $60,000 per incident that all other Texas drivers must have.

What Happens When the Driver Is Giving a Customer a Ride

When the driver is providing a customer a ride, Texas law stipulates that the ridesharing company and driver must provide a minimum of $1 million in insurance to cover for death, property damage, and bodily injury for every accident. The large increase could push a ridesharing company and their insurance provider to attempt burying the evidence and to claim that their driver wasn’t providing a ride when the alleged accident happened. If they are successful at this, those involved will only be liable to settle just $50,000 and not the $1 million.

Skilled Fort Worth Rideshare Accident Lawyers

Zinda Law Group of Fort Worth has the knowledge, experience, and resources necessary to uncover the truth of your accident and to help you pursue compensation against the ridesharing company.

Call us 800-863-5312 today to schedule a free consultation with one of our Fort Worth rideshare accident lawyers. Meetings with attorneys by appointment only.